1749 Spooner House
Built circa 1749 for the widow Hannah Jackson, the Spooner House is one of the oldest structures on Plymouth's picturesque North Street. It was home to one Plymouth family, the Spooners, for over two hundred years. The first Spooner to occupy the house was Deacon Ephraim Spooner, a successful local merchant and patriot during the American Revolution. The Deacon's descendants, including mariners, farmers, abolitionists, reformers, and merchants, lived here into the 1950s, adding to and adapting the house to suit their needs. James Spooner, a lifelong bachelor and patron of music, was the last member of the family to occupy the house. In 1954, he bequeathed his home and generations of family possessions to be a historical museum.
The two-story house, complete with its original furnishings, including china, paintings and furniture, shows 200 years of domestic life in Plymouth.
In 2008, the Spooner House closed for a period of study and review of its longterm building needs. The Antiquarian Society determined that significant restoration work was required and began the search for funding. In June 2009, the Spooner House Restoration Project was awarded a major grant from the Town of Plymouth Community Preservation Fund. A series of exterior repairs were carried out during the 2011 season and upon completion, the house and its enclosed garden re-opens seasonally for guided tours.