“With love from” campaign will feature fourteen tourism regions in Massachusetts on 17 billboards over three months

Thursday, July 2, 2020

Contact: Nancy Gardella, Co-chair MA RTCs, 508-939-0900, nancy@mvy.com 

Coordinated Recovery Marketing by MA Regional Tourism Councils Results in Statewide Billboard Campaign

“With love from” campaign will feature fourteen tourism regions in Massachusetts on 17 billboards over three months

Boston, MA (June 30, 2020) – Beginning in July, expect to see billboards sending “postcards of love” across the Commonwealth from the state’s own tourism destinations. Over the next three months, statewide digital billboards and MBTA stations will display “With Love From…” postcards from the tourism regions around Massachusetts. It is meant to help restart the industry as the state slowly reopens, and to remind locals that they can be a tourist at home. 

“At the same moment Governor Baker declared a state of emergency on March 10, the 16 Regional Tourism Council directors were meeting in Boston,” said Ann Marie Casey, Co-chair of MA RTCs. “It was immediately evident to us that the damage to the tourism industry was going to be historic and we needed to plan for the day we could reopen.”

A marketing subcommittee of the councils quickly convened, reviewed the emerging research, committed funding and produced the “With Love From” theme with a new SpiritofMa.com landing page. The billboards will lead to a landing page where visitors may choose a region of interest and click through to destination websites for regional updates and travel info. 

“Congratulations to the Regional Tourism Councils (RTCs) for this innovative and creative way to promote the true spirit of Massachusetts,” said Keiko Orrall, Executive Director of  Massachusetts Office of Travel & Tourism (MOTT). “During these challenging times, we applaud this unified effort to market the Commonwealth as an ideal place to vacation when the time is right.”

Recent traveler sentiment surveys show that people will travel close to home and will look for accommodations, dining and activities outdoors that are attesting to safety guidelines. Travel and tourism is one of Massachusetts' key industries, accounting for nearly $24.2 billion in direct spending in 2018 and generating $1.6 billion in state and local taxes. The industry supports 153,200 jobs across the Commonwealth and $5.6 billion in wages. This sector has suffered the largest job loss during the pandemic, touching every part of the state. The “With Love From” campaign reminds Massachusetts residents that the travel industry is open and safely caring for guests, and that its family and neighbors who work in the tourism industry are looking forward to going back to work. 

To see images of the billboards and landing page, go to SpiritofMa.com. 

###

About the Massachusetts Regional Tourism Councils (RTCs)
Organized into 16 tourism regions in Massachusetts, Regional Tourism Councils are nonprofit membership-based organizations whose missions are to develop and implement regional tourism advertising, public relations, and other marketing initiatives. RTCs are partially funded through the Massachusetts Tourism Trust Fund and work in concert with the MA Office of Travel and Tourism. Tourism is one of Massachusetts' key industries, accounting for nearly $24.2 billion in direct spending in 2018 and generating $1.6 billion in state and local taxes. The tourism industry in MA supports 153,200 jobs and $5.6 billion in wages. Website: SpiritofMA.com 

RTC Regions

Greater Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau
Martha Sheridan, President/CEO
msheridan@bostonusa.com 
www.bostonusa.com 

North of Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau
Ann Marie Casey, Executive Director
acasey@northofboston.org 
www.northofboston.org 

Greater Merrimack Valley Convention & Visitors Bureau
Tom Fitzmaurice, Executive Director
fitzmauricet@merrimackvalley.org
www.merrimackvalley.org 

Southeastern Massdachusetts Visitors Bureau
Rick Kidder, President/CEO
rkidder@newbedfordchamber.com 
www.visitsemass.com 

See Plymouth
Lea Filson, Executive Director
Lea.filson@seeplymouth.com 
www.SeePlymouth.com 

Cape Cod Chamber of Commerce & CVB
Wendy Northcross, Chief Executive Officer
wendy@capecodchamber.org
www.capecodchamber.org

Martha’s Vineyard Chamber of Commerce
Nancy Gardella, Executive Director
nancy@mvy.com 
www.mvy.com

Nantucket Island Chamber of Commerce
Kristie Ferrantella, President/CEO
kristie@nantucketchamber.org
www.nantucketchamber.org

Metrowest Tourism & Visitors Bureau
Erin Lynch, Executive Director
erin@metrowestvisitors.org
www.metrowestvisitors.org

Johnny Appleseed Trail Association/ North Central Massachusetts
Roy Nascimento, President
rnascimento@northcentralmass.com
www.visitnorthcentral.com

Worcester Regional Tourism Corporation – Discover Central Massachusetts
Monique Messier, Executive Director
mmessier@discovercentralma.org
www.discovercentralma.org

Greater Springfield Convention & Visitors Bureau
Mary Kay Wydra, President
marykay@valleyvisitor.com
www.valleyvisitor.com

Hampshire County Tourism & Visitors Bureau
Vincent (Vince) Jackson, Executive Director
vince@northamptonchamber.com
www.visithampshirecounty.com

Franklin County Chamber of Commerce
Diana Szynal, Executive Director
diana@franklincc.org
www.franklincc.org

The Berkshires
Lindsey Schmid, Vice President Tourism & Marketing
lschmid@1berkshire.com
www.berkshires.org

Mohawk Trail Association
Peter Tomyl, President
petertomyl@mohawktrail.com
www.mohawktrail.com