Historic Sites & Houses

1677 Harlow Old Fort House
119 Sandwich Street
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-746-0012

1677 Harlow Old Fort House

Built in 1677, the gambrel-roofed Harlow Old Fort House is one of the few remaining 17th century buildings in the oldest established town in the Commonwealth. It was originally the family residence of settler William Harlow, a farmer, cooper and town official, who also served as sergeant of the local militia and participated in King Philip's War. Read more about 1677 Harlow Old Fort House

Daniel Webster Estate
238 Webster Street
Marshfield , MA
Phone: 781-834-0548

Daniel Webster Estate

Daniel Webster is best remembered as a statesman, orator, lawyer, U.S. Senator and Secretary of State. He is least remembered for being a farmer, fisherman and hunter. Daniel Webster came to Marshfield in 1828 and, two years later bought the 600-acre Thomas Farm. During the twenty years that he lived here, Webster expanded to an 1800-acre farm that he named "Green Harbor". Read more about Daniel Webster Estate

1749 Court House and Museum
Town Square
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-830-4075

1749 Court House and Museum

Located right in the center of Plymouth, The 1749 Court House is a museum filled with interesting items from Plymouth's history. It is the oldest wooden Court House and the longest used municipal building in America. The 1749 Court House was originally built for the joint use of the county and the Town of Plymouth. Open daily mid-June through mid-October. Read more about 1749 Court House and Museum

1809 Hedge House
126 Water Street
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-746-0012

1809 Hedge House Museum

The 1809 Hedge House is one of Plymouth's finest examples of Federal period architecture, featuring octagonal rooms in the mainblock, and a rare, intact carriage house. Built by sea captain William Hammatt, the house was originally located on Court St., where Memorial Hall is today. Read more about 1809 Hedge House Museum

Mayflower Society House
4 Winslow Street
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-746-3188

Mayflower Society House

Across the street and around the corner from Plymouth Rock, in the heart of this quaint village’s historic district, is the Mayflower Society House. The grounds host the historic eighteenth century dwelling built by Edward Winslow. Behind this stately mansion are the offices and library of the General Society of Mayflower Descendants. Read more about Mayflower Society House

Plimoth Plantation
137 Warren Avenue
Plymouth , MA
Phone: (508) 746-1622

Wampanoag Plimoth Plantation Homesite

Here you'll discover how the 17th-century Wampanoag would have lived along the coast during the growing season; planting their crops, fishing and hunting, gathering wild herbs and berries for food, and reeds for making mats and baskets. Read more about Wampanoag Plimoth Plantation Homesite

1749 Spooner House
27 North Street
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-746-0012

1749 Spooner House

Built circa 1749 for the widow Hannah Jackson, the Spooner House is one of the oldest structures on Plymouth's picturesque North Street. It was home to one Plymouth family, the Spooners, for over two hundred years. The first Spooner to occupy the house was Deacon Ephraim Spooner, a successful local merchant and patriot during the American Revolution. Read more about 1749 Spooner House

Burial Hill
School Street
Plymouth , MA

Burial Hill

A must-stop along the historic path of the Pilgrims, Burial Hill is the site is one of their first forts and the burial place of William Bradford and other first settlers. Set high atop the hill, the Pilgrims placed their cannons facing the harbor for protection. On the first Saturday of each month (except January), the Plymouth Antiquarian Society invites you to explore one of Plymouth’s greatest historic treasures during a series of free themed discovery tours.  Encounter art, history, and culture in an open-air museum with local historians who share their expertise on a fascinating range of topics.  Read more about Burial Hill

Bradford House Museum
931 Tremont Street
Duxbury , MA
Phone: 781-934-6106

Bradford House Museum

The exhibition is a self-touring, gallery style installation in the family home. Tour guides are available for more information, or just for a chat! The exhibitions feature family-friendly and hands-on activities. An introductory video is available.

  Read more about Bradford House Museum

The Jabez Howland House
33 Sandwich Street
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-746-9590

The Jabez Howland House

The Jabez Howland House is the only existing house in Plymouth where Pilgrims actually lived. The original 17th century two-story timber framed house consisted of the porch, hall and hall chamber. John Howland and his wife, Elizabeth Tilley Howland spent their winters here with their son Jabez and his family. Read more about The Jabez Howland House

Plymouth Rock
79 Water Street
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-747-5360

Plymouth Rock

Located in Pilgrim Memorial State Park on the shore of Plymouth Harbor, this simple glacial erratic boulder has become a world famous symbol representing something different to each person who looks at it.

  Read more about Plymouth Rock

Alden House Historic Site
105 Alden Street
Duxbury , MA
Phone: 781-934-9092

Alden House Historic Site

John Alden and Priscilla Mullins arrived in Plimoth Colony on the Mayflower in 1620 and were married about 1622. In 1627, they moved to land in Duxbury where they raised their 10 children. That land has never been out of the Alden family. Now designated a National Historic Landmark, the property welcomes visitors for tours of the c. 1680 Alden family home, archeological site, and grounds and offers hands-on programs that "bring history to life."  Read more about Alden House Historic Site

The Plimoth Grist Mill
6 Spring Lane
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-746-1622

The Plimoth Grist Mill

The Mill is a reconstruction of the original grist mill that once stood on the same site. In the 17th century, grist mills were very important because corn was the major crop for the early colonists. To be useful for baking, corn had to be ground into flour. Read more about The Plimoth Grist Mill

Old Oaken Bucket Homestead
47 Old Oaken Bucket Road
Scituate , MA
Phone: 781-545-1083

Old Oaken Bucket Homestead

Poet Samuel Woodworth’s poem “The Old Oaken Bucket” made The Old Oaken Bucket Homestead and Well on of the most popular local attractions in the late 1800s. His poem, a lament for the lost days of his youth, has been described as one of the most beautiful works in the English language, and was translated into more than eight other languages around the world. Read more about Old Oaken Bucket Homestead

Major John Bradford House
50 Landing Road
Kingston , MA
Phone: 781-585-6300

Major John Bradford House

Bradford House is an historic house at 50 Landing Road in Kingston, Massachusetts. The Jones River Village Historical Society is located in the house, known as the Major John Bradford Homestead.

The house was built in 1714 and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2006. Read more about Major John Bradford House

The Richard Sparrow House
42 Summer Street
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-747-1240

The Richard Sparrow House Museum

Richard Sparrow, his wife Pandora, and son Jonathan, left their home in England, and arrived in New Plimoth by 1633.  As a freeman, Richard was granted a house tract of six acres in 1636, which required him to construct a house within four years.  The original two-story house contained one room on each level and utilized cross summer beam construction.  With its large rooms, leaded glass window Read more about The Richard Sparrow House Museum

Mann Farmhouse and Museum
108 Greenfield Lane
Scituate , MA
Phone: 781-545-1083

Mann Farmhouse and Museum

Three generations of the Mann family lived at the Mann Farmhouse at the corner of Stockbridge Road and Greenfield Lane, direct descendants of Richard Mann who came to Scituate in 1636. The main house that now stands is a typical full Cape with a large central chimney. The ell was added and served as a summer kitchen, storage area and workshop. Read more about Mann Farmhouse and Museum

Parting Ways Cemetery
Plympton Street (Route 80)
Plymouth , MA

Parting Ways Cemetery

Over 5,000 African men served General George Washington in the American Revolution. They served with honor and helped to win the freedom of this great nation. These men made up 10% of the entire Army of Revolutionary soldiers. Among these 5,000 soldiers were four young African-American men from Plymouth - Cato Howe, Plato Turner, Prince Goodwin and Quamany Quash. Cato Howe was a freeman who had probably never been enslaved. Plato Turner and Prince Goodwin were former slaves. Quamany Quash was enslaved and not emancipated until after his military service. Following the war, the Town of Plymouth granted these men acreage Read more about Parting Ways Cemetery

Plymouth Cordage Company
10 Cordage Park Circle
Plymouth , MA

Plymouth Cordage Company Museum

Founded in 1824, The Plymouth Cordage Company was once the largest manufacturer of rope and twine in the world. It was also the Town of Plymouth's largest employer for more than 100 years. Their large factory, located on the Plymouth waterfront, specialized in ship rigging and was chosen among their competitors in the early 1900s to manufacture the rope used on the USS Constitution. The company's Plymouth binder twine, popular among farmers, was the inspiration for the naming of the Plymouth brand of automobiles first produced in 1928. Today a small museum of archives and artifacts is maintained at Cordage Park in North Plymouth. Read more about Plymouth Cordage Company Museum

Winslow House
634 Careswell Street
Marshfield , MA
Phone: 781-837-5753

1699 Historic Winslow House & Cultural Center

The historic 1699 Winslow House, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the ancestral home of the founding family of Marshfield and was considered an avant-garde South Shore mansion. Built by Judge Isaac Winslow, grandson of Mayflower passenger and three-time governor of Plymouth Colony Edward Winslow, the house is an example of Marshfield’s historic past. Read more about 1699 Historic Winslow House & Cultural Center

Plimoth Plantation
137 Warren Avenue
Plymouth , MA
Phone: 508-746-1622

Plimoth Plantation

Located three miles south of Plymouth Center, Plimoth Plantation is a living history museum dedicated to telling the history of Plymouth Colony from the perspective of both the Pilgrims and the Native Wampanoag people. The museum is a Smithsonian Institution Affiliate that includes the Wampanoag Homesite, 17th-Century English Village, Craft Center, Plimoth Bread Company, Plimoth Grist Mill and Mayflower II (under repair-due back in 2019), a full-scale reproduction of the original ship that sailed to Plymouth in 1620. The Plantation Visitor Center offers an indoor gallery exhibit, Cinema, and the Patuxet Café, serving delicious New England fare. Browse their award-winning museum shops for unique, historically-inspired items.  Read more about Plimoth Plantation

Buy Tickets
1810 Captain John Wilson House
4 Elm Street
Cohasset , MA
Phone: 781-383-1434

1810 Captain John Wilson House

Restored with the generousity of Community Preservation Act funding, 1810 Captain John Wilson House located at 4 Elm St., contains period household furnishings and exhibits about 19th century life in Cohasset. Built by David Nichols  and purchased soon thereafter by Captain John Wilson, the house remained in the Wilson family until 1912. Read more about 1810 Captain John Wilson House

King Caesar House
120 King Caesar Road
Duxbury , MA
Phone: 781-934-6106

King Caesar House

A guide-led experience through the home of Ezra Weston II (“King Caesar”), Duxbury’s largest shipbuilder, furnished with antiques and maritime treasures exemplifying Duxbury’s shipbuilding era. Introductory video is available. Stroll the grounds, including the remnants of King Caesar’s wharf, now called Bumpus Park. Introductory video available; family treasure hunts are offered. Read more about King Caesar House

Nathaniel Winsor, Jr. House
479 Washington Street
Duxbury , MA
Phone: 781-934-6106

Nathaniel Winsor, Jr. House

Acquired by the Society in 1997 through a community fundraising effort, the Nathaniel Winsor, Jr. House is perhaps the most architecturally significant building in Duxbury.  Its construction, on a grand scale uncommon in houses of the area, was based on designs by Bulfinch and Asher Benjamin. Read more about Nathaniel Winsor, Jr. House

The Preservation Society of Newport County
424 Bellevue Avenue
Newport , RI
Phone: 401-847-1000

Newport Mansions

The Newport Mansions offer visitors a unique trip through America’s past. Audio tours at The Breakers, The Elms, Marble House & Rosecliff bring you the personal stories of the men and women who lived in these grand mansions and the household staff who cared for them.  Now you can also tour the underground boiler room, tunnel and basement of The Breakers. Read more about Newport Mansions

Hatch Mill Restoration & Preservation Group Inc.
Off Union Street
Marshfield , MA
Phone: 781-834-9647

Hatch Mill Restoration & Preservation Group Inc.

We are pleased to announce the establishment of the Hatch Mill Restoration & Preservation Group, Inc. created to restore Marshfield's Hatch Mill into a working educational site. Read more about Hatch Mill Restoration & Preservation Group Inc.

Kathleen Laidlaw Historical Center "The Little Red Schoolhouse"
43 Cudworth Road
Scituate , MA
Phone: 781-545-1083

Kathleen Laidlaw Historical Center "The Little Red Schoolhouse"

As the headquarters of the Scituate Historical Society, the Kathleen Laidlaw Historical Center provides the heartbeat of the organization. Two meeting rooms are available for local organizations needing meeting space. All inquiries to the Scituate Historical Society pass through this facility. Read more about Kathleen Laidlaw Historical Center "The Little Red Schoolhouse"

Cudworth House
331 First Parish Road
Scituate , MA
Phone: 781-545-1083

Cudworth House, Barn and Cattle Pound

The Cudworth House sits on land granted to Richard Garrett before 1646. In 1728 Jael Garrett sold the dwelling house and land to James Cudworth. Ownership passed to his grandson, Zephaniah, who built the present house in 1797 around the chimney of the original structure on the site. Read more about Cudworth House, Barn and Cattle Pound

1903 Paul Pratt Building
106 South Main Street
Cohasset , MA
Phone: 781-383-1434

1903 Paul Pratt Building

The Cohasset Historical Society Headquarters is housed in this building which was designed by Edward Nichols, a Cohasset native and Boston architect. The Pratt Building was built in 1903 to provide Cohasset with a central library building for both the private Paul Pratt Memorial Library and the town's Cohasset Free Public Library. Read more about 1903 Paul Pratt Building

Stockbridge Mill
6 County War
Scituate , MA
Phone: 781-545-1083

Stockbridge Mill

In 1640 Isaac Stedman dammed the First Herring Brook and built a sawmill beside the pond. Around 1650, John Stockbridge built the currently standing gristmill. Much of the machinery now in the mill was installed by Stockbridge. Read more about Stockbridge Mill